Skip to main content
Normal text size icon Increase text size by 30% icon
NGH Long NHS75 logo

NGH becomes first UK hospital to achieve international accreditation status

Northampton General Hospital is the first hospital in the United Kingdom to achieve an international mark of excellence for sustaining a positive work environment for nurses and midwives.

The hospital announced today (Wednesday 7 Nov) that it has achieved Pathway to Excellence Accreditation from the American Nurses Credentialing Centre (ANCC) which runs the international programme.

Sheran Oke, director of nursing, midwifery and patient services at NGH, said: “I am delighted that NGH has achieved this prestigious recognition, which is awarded to organisations that provide a positive practice environment for their nurses and midwives. I am extremely proud of the team at NGH and all the great things they have achieved, and continue to achieve, every day.”

Chief executive Dr Sonia Swart said: “This recognition could not have been achieved without the commitment of our nursing and midwifery team, supported by everyone else here at TeamNGH. To be the first hospital in the UK to achieve Pathway to Excellence accreditation is testament to the dedication, professionalism and ambition of all of TeamNGH. By achieving Pathway to Excellence accreditation we are building on the foundations we have already put in place to enable our staff to provide the best possible care.”

Sheran continued: “The Pathway to Excellence designation follows a lengthy application process that has engaged everyone at NGH from ward to board. To qualify organisations must meet six practice standards essential to an ideal nursing practice environment. But the process does not end here. Recipients must maintain their status through regular re-application.”

Organisations achieving designation are deemed to be among the best places for nurses and midwives to work, with high job satisfaction and retention. Research shows that healthy work environments not only improve staff satisfaction and morale, they also improve patient satisfaction and the quality of patient care.

The standards include:

  • Shared Decision Making
  • Leadership
  • Safety
  • Quality
  • Wellbeing
  • Professional Development

 More information about the Pathway to Excellence programme here

Posted on Wednesday 7th November 2018
Back to Top